Region III Awards and Honors

Posted: Oct 02, 2019

Dear Region III Members,

It is my pleasure to serve as the ARVP of Member & Chapter Affairs for the 2019-2020 calendar year. This position presides over two very important awards, the Region III SPY Award and the Hall of Fame Award. I am honored to serve in this position and will serve in this role with the utmost respect, dignity, and honor that these prestigious awards deserve.

Please take time to visit the Region III website, under the Awards & Honors section, to review the criteria for these respective applications. Also, be sure to nominate a deserving member(s) of your Chapter for one or both awards. I look forward to forming an Awards Committee that will review all nominations and announce all the award recipients and honorees at the Region III Professional Development Conference (PDC) on Monday, August 31st, 2020.

Read More

45 days to Certification: Impossible to Possible

Posted: Nov 03, 2018

By Renee Witherspoon, CSP, CIH, CHMM, Region III ARVP Communication

Travis Lane, CSP, Fort Worth Chapter Treasurer achieves the Gold Standard in Safety. “Sometimes, fear brings wings to the feet.”

This past August, I had the opportunity to attend our Region III Regional Operating Committee (ROC) meeting in Oklahoma City.  One of the highlights of attending any ROC event is getting to meet and network with some of our great Region III leaders and share ideas.

One of the leaders I had the privilege to met was from our Fort Worth Chapter, current Chapter Treasurer, Travis Lane.  Travis has an amazing story about how he achieved his Certified Safety Professional (CSP) credential despite overwhelming circumstances.

Here’s his story… Read More

Region III ROC Rocks Oklahoma City

Posted: Aug 19, 2018

Stephanie Johnson, CSP, CHMM, Area Director – North discussing Spear-Phishing prevention at the ROC meeting.

Your Region III Operating Committee (ROC) met on August 19 to network, share ideas and look at best practices to help Region III Chapters continue to be the premier Region in ASSP!

“We already know who is the best,” says Region III AVP, Steve Gray, CSP, CHST.  “We have an Annual PDC, Annual Student Leadership Conference, Hall of Fame, and no Regional Assessment Fee for members.”

Below is summary of the agenda items.  Minutes of the meeting will be available soon.

Sunday, August 19, 2018 – Sheraton Downtown (1 N Broadway Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102)

Read More