Awards and Honors

Safety Professional of the Year (SPY) Award

The Edgar Monsanto Queeny Safety Professional of the Year Award is a prestigious award conveyed annually by ASSP to individuals that make a significant contribution in advancing the safety profession. To be considered for this award your nomination must first go through the Region.  Please complete the following Region III SPY Packet information: Region SPY Packet. Please send your completed form in the Region SPY Packet to Jimmy Evans, CM, Assistant Regional III VP and SPY Award Chair.

Region III Safety Professional of the Year Award – Past Winners

  • 2017 – Jim Rainwater, CSP (South Texas Chapter)
  • 2016 – Stephanie Schroeder, CSP (Oklahoma City Chapter)
  • 2015 – William C. Young, MS, (Oklahoma City Chapter)
  • 2014 – Renee Witherspoon, MS, RS, CSP, CIH, CHMM (South Plains Chapter)
  • 2013 – No recipient
  • 2012 – Scott Sloan, CSP, ARM, CRM, CSHM (Central Texas Chapter)
  • 2011 – Mark Huddleston, CSP (Oklahoma City Chapter)
  • 2010 – Mark Gaskamp, CSP, ALCM, CRM, CIC, CPCU (Central Texas Chapter)
  • 2009 – Jeffrey Oakley, Ph.D., CSP (Gulf Coast Chapter)
  • 2008 – Joel Tietjens, CSP, CHSM (Gulf Coast Chapter)
  • 2007 – No recipient
  • 2006 – Helmut W. Paschold, Ph.D, PE, CSP (Paso Del Norte Chapter)
  • 2005 – Patricia Kagerer, CSP, ARM (Paso Del Norte Chapter)
  • 2004 – Mike Messner, CSP, CFPS (Oklahoma City Chapter)
  • 2003 – Cindy Lewis (Gulf Coast Chapter)
  • 2002 – Mike Gonzales, CSP (Paso Del Norte Chapter)
  • 2001 – Martin E. Novich, CSP (Sabine Neche Chapter)
  • 2000 – Richard Bourlon, PE, CSP (Southwest Chapter)